top of page

The idea that this vast nation of ours needed a National Cinematographers’ Society was in the air for a long time. It needed the initiative of Mr. Ramachandra Babu to contact  Mr. Victor J Kemper, the then President of the American Society of Cinematographers for consulting and crystalizing the idea of ISC. Indian Society of Cinematographers was first registered as a Charitable Society in Kerala. Mr. Ramachandra Babu (President), Mr. Sunny Joseph (General Secretary) and Mr. Venu (Treasurer) were the first office bearers of the ISC. At the time of Inauguration, Indian Society of Cinematographers had 27 members from all over India.


The official inauguration of ISC was held in Trivandrum on the eve of the 100th Birthday of Cinema on 28th December 1995. It was a well attended and simple function held at the seminar hall of Priyadarshini Planetarium. 

Eminent cinematographer, Subrata Mitra, who re-defined the aesthetics of global cinematography, lit the lamp and inaugurated the ISC. Mr. Adoor Gopalakrishnan, eminent Film Maker from Kerala, presented the first Honorary Membership to Mr. Subrata Mitra. Mr. Ramachandra Babu welcomed all guests and Mr. Sunny Joseph gave the vote of thanks. Eminent film personalities and well-wishers including eminent Cinematographers, Directors, Writers and others attended the function which included Mankada Ravivarma, Ashok Kumar, Sivan, KG George, Harikumar, Venu, Bina Paul, TK Rajivkumar, KG Jayan, Nandakumar Menon, Mannarakkayam Baby, MF Thomas, Perumpuzha Goplakrishnan, Ravi, KPAC Sunny, Venu (Nana) and MR Rajan. 


Ours is still a relatively small Society with a wide potential for pan-India growth. ISC in 2020 is a revitalized entity that thrives on creative collaboration of each of its members. 

The endeavor going forward would be to become more inclusive and contribute in meaningful ways to the community of Cinema practitioners. 

bottom of page